60th Asian African Conference Commemoration 2015

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hey Humans!

The world has been buzzing about the 60th Asian African Conference Commemoration (AACC) in Jakarta and Bandung, Indonesia. Long story short, the Asian African Conference was first held in 1955 at Bandung, Indonesia. The aim was to “promote Afro-Asian economic and cultural cooperation and to oppose colonialism or neocolonialism by any nation” (Wikipedia). I happen to stop by at the history place itself. It was a huge coincidence that I went to Bandung yesterday, and they were preparing the closing event for Friday (24th April 2015).

I stayed at a Hotel very very near to the Asia-Africa Street. They held a rehearsal for the security in the Asia-Africa Street where the AACC is held. AACC is also held in Jakarta, but the huge closing ceremony will be held on Friday in Bandung. They closed the roads for the rehearsal. A lot of people got caught in traffic for the rehearsal. I myself couldn’t get out of the hotel for this.

The town was full of newly put decorations. It was surprising that when I came to Bandung on Tuesday, people were still painting and building stuff. But the next day, there were new statues, benches, plants and flags. It was done in a night. I mean…. they started all this just a week before the huge event. The news said that the the money for this just came in a week before. I’d have to admit that Indonesia is amazing, but quite slow in preparing. The roads was very crowded with cars and people taking selfies. I got a few goose bumps strolling through the streets, such a historical place happening in front of my eyes.

I am very amazed by how amazing Indonesia is (I know, such great language). Soekarno (Indonesia’s first president) was a great leader. He made all this possible 60 years ago, the early years of Indonesia’s Independence, and Indonesia was still hard on money. The history is still and will always be alive. I’ve shown so many proof of how great and vast Indonesia is through my blogs and vlogs on youtube. I am very proud to be an Indonesian.

Cya soon,

Syra 🙂

Leave a Reply

