The Grateful Adventure

Hey Humans,

Just a few days ago I got myself on a train in Indonesia. I happen to go on at a rush hour. I have set my shoes on various situations, from the most comfortable to the worst. This may not be the ‘worst’ but this sure as hell ain’t comfortable either. FYI, I am writing this to share my experience, I am not here to exaggerate an event.

JpegFirst of all, I have never loved much of Indonesia’s transportation. It takes time to really understand where you’re going, and most of all they don’t maintain their transportation’s. Second, the amount of people is not equal to how much transportation available. Third, Indonesian citizens needs to learn to be patient and wait in line. I went on a train with hundreds of other people. At every station more and more people would come in but only a few people went out. It got to the point where I couldn’t even stand straight, my foot weren’t even supporting me. And it also got to the point where I couldn’t take more photos of the condition (haha very funny).

JpegBut why do I love having to experience this even though it’s so uncomfortable? Having a mind like mine, turning perspectives around lets me to realize a lot. I didn’t get mad, in fact I smile to people in the train (not that I’m some psychopath). I got to see various events and people. I saw a man in his working clothes, he’s a mechanic in a break shop. I’d have to be honest, he has a very sour scent of smell. But it got me thinking, he could’ve been working from morning to afternoon for the love of his family. Thinking that he might have a family back at home waiting for him to come home, and just welcome him for who he is not for his scent.

JpegThere was also a mother and her child near me. No one gave her a seat, and it was a very crowded train. The mother held on tight for her daughter. That right there is true love, love from a mother to daughter.

There was also a really nice guy, a very young gentleman. I saw a great personality in him when he showed respect to women. When a seat was empty he would show and let other women take the seat. When it was his stop he would say bye to his friend, but I could hear the friendly voice of his. Like he has no problem with the situations he has to go through, like maybe he has to get on this train everyday from work or school.

But one I will never forget is how people connect to each other. We didn’t want to fall down or squish into other people. But we knew we had no other choice but to be patient. A few would smile to each other, or laugh at how ridiculous this all is. But that’s life! We can’t stay mad at these situations, even though I know I HATE it. If you can’t change it, at least try to change your perspective. Think of it as something positive. I know that I learned to never underestimate something or someone. And we are not the only humans, so don’t think like you’re the center of the universe. Oh and don’t ever forget, if you were born in a fortunate family or you worked your butt off to be on top, you can never be on top without the people below supporting you! So be grateful for the smallest things in life, and every human beings.

Cya soon,

Syra 🙂

Leave a Reply

